J-POWER EPDC

SASB INDEX

Relevant performance is organized in accordance with the Electric Utilities & Power Generators industry standards set by the US-based Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB).
SASB Standards were created primarily with companies and markets in North America in mind and incorporate some items that do not apply to our business. However, we have attempted to disclose as much information as possible.

FY2025 data

Topic Accounting metric Code Result
Greenhouse gas emissions & energy resource planning*1 (1) Gross global Scope 1 emissions
IF-EU-110a.1. 43,320,000 t-CO2
(2) Percentage of Scope 1 emissions under emissions-limiting regulations Not applicable
(3) Percentage of Scope 1 under emissions-reporting regulations 100%
Greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions associated with power deliveries IF-EU-110a.2. 43,120,000 t-CO2
Discussion of long-term and short-term strategy or plan to manage Scope 1 emissions IF-EU-110a.3. Aim for net-zero emissions (carbon neutrality) by 2050.
Toward 2030, along with reducing the use of thermal power and pushing forward biomass mixed combustion, we will consider and prepare for mixed combustion of ammonia, upcycling of existing facilities, and CCS in Japan, while steadily pursuing initiatives to reach our CO2 reduction target.
Emissions reduction targets 2050 Net-zero emissions
2030 Reduce CO2 emissions from the J-POWER Group’s domestic power generation business: 46% (22.5 million t-CO2)*3
  • * The FY2025 target (reduction of 9.2 million t-CO2*3 CO2 emissions from the J-POWER Group’s domestic power generation business) has been achieved.
Analysis of performance against the above targets Actual CO2 emissions for FY2025 were 35.78 million t-CO2 (a decrease of 12.99 million t-CO2 compared to FY2013), achieving CO2 reductions exceeding the interim target. In order to cut CO2 emissions from the J-POWER Group’s domestic power generation business by 46% (a decrease of 22.5 million t-CO2) compared to FY2013 by FY2030, we are moving forward with plans to implement the above reductions.
(1) Number of customers served in markets subject to renewable portfolio standards (RPS) IF-EU-110a.4. Not applicable
  • * The RPS law which established RPS regulations in Japan was abolished in 2012 and has shifted to a feed-in tariff system.
(2) Percentage fulfillment of RPS target by market
Air quality*2 (1) NOx IF-EU-120a.1. 16,400 t, 100%
  • * The percentage value indicates emission rate in densely populated areas.
(2) SOx 6,800 t, 100%
  • * The percentage value indicates emission rate in densely populated areas.
(3) Particulate matter (PM10) Not disclosed, as we have not adopted measurement methods recommended by the SASB Standards.
(4) Lead (Pb) Not disclosed, as we have not adopted measurement methods recommended by the SASB Standards.
(5) Mercury (Hg) Not disclosed, as we have not adopted measurement methods recommended by the SASB Standards.
Water management*2 (1) Total water withdrawn IF-EU-140a.1. 55,947,700 thousand m3, [0%]
  • * The percentage value indicates the proportion of areas with high/extremely high water stress.
(2) Total water consumed   15,300 thousand m3, [43%]
  • * The percentage value indicates the proportion of areas with high/extremely high water stress.
Number of incidents of non-compliance associated with water quantity and/or quality permits, standards, and regulations IF-EU-140a.2. 0
Description of water management risks and discussion of strategies and practices to mitigate those risks IF-EU-140a.3. The Company manages the following risks related to the use of water resources, which are essential to its power generation business.
In the hydroelectric power generation business, the amount of water withdrawal permitted by law is observed, and the river environment is maintained by discharging water from rivers exceeding certain sizes*4.
In the thermal power generation business, we are working to reduce water withdrawal by recovering and reusing water for power generation.
In addition, seawater is used as indirect cooling water for power generation facilities, and we comply with the levels stipulated in environmental conservation agreements, thereby mitigating the impact on aquatic environments.
WRI Aqueduct (3.0) is used to locate water risks for the hydroelectric and thermal power plants of consolidated subsidiaries that use large amounts of water resources. As a result, while no power plants operate in places with high water stress in Japan, there are thermal power plants located in regions with high water stress overseas. In such overseas areas, we are striving to reduce water withdrawal/consumption and operational risk by reusing water discharges after treatment and constructing reservoirs by taking each site’s environment into account.
Coal ash management*2 Amount of coal combustion residuals (CCR) generated and percentage recycled IF-EU-150a.1. 1,421,000 tons [93.2%]
Number of CCR impoundments IF-EU-150a.2. 3
Energy affordability (1) Retail electric rate for residential customers IF-EU-240a.1. Not disclosed for competitive reasons due to deregulation of the electric power industry
(2) Retail electric rate for commercial customers
(3) Average retail electric rate for industrial customers
Typical monthly electric bill for residential customers for (1) 500 kWh of electricity delivered per month IF-EU-240a.2.
Typical monthly electric bill for residential customers for (2) 1,000 kWh of electricity delivered per month
(1) Number of residential customer electric disconnections for non-payment IF-EU-240a.3.
(2) Percentage reconnected within 30 days
Workforce health and safety (1) Total recordable incident rate (statistic count x 200,000/hours worked)
IF-EU-320a.1. 0.54 (Employees: 0.05; Outsourcing & other contractors: 0.70)
  • Note: Calculations are for J-POWER, J-POWER Transmission Network Co., Ltd., five major Group companies*, and partner companies.
    • * J-POWER Business Service Corporation, J-POWER HYTEC Co., Ltd., J-POWER Generation Service Co., Ltd., J-POWER Telecommunication Service Co., Ltd., J-POWER Design Co., Ltd.
(2) Fatality rate (number of cases) 1
(3) Near miss frequency rate (statistic count x 200,000/hours worked) Not disclosed, as we have not adopted measurement methods recommended by the SASB Standards.
End-use efficiency & demand (1) Decoupled percentage IF-EU-420a.1. Not applicable
  • * Not applicable as no customers in Japan have adopted the decoupling and LRAM
(2) Lost revenue adjustment mechanism (LRAM) percentage
Percentage of electric load (MWh) served by smart grid technology IF-EU-420a.2. Not disclosed for competitive reasons due to deregulation of the electric power industry
Customer electricity savings from efficiency measures, by market IF-EU-420a.3. Not applicable
Nuclear safety & emergency management Total number of nuclear power units IF-EU-540a.1. 1 (Ohma Nuclear Power Plant)
  • * Ohma Nuclear Power Plant is currently under construction and reviewed by the Nuclear Regulation Authority of its compliance with the New Safety Standards for Nuclear Power Stations. Timing of operational start is unscheduled.
Description of efforts to manage nuclear safety and emergency preparedness IF-EU-540a.2. We are working to improve safety by aptly implementing safety activities based on the quality management system for nuclear safety led by our president, and by steadily undertaking continuous improvement through the Corrective Action Program (CAP).
Furthermore, with “safety first” as our organizational culture and with awareness among all of us of the roles and the importance of our work duties, we engage in activities to foster and maintain a culture of nuclear safety by which we continuously improve ourselves.
Grid resiliency Number of incidents of non-compliance with physical and/or cybersecurity standards or regulations IF-EU-550a.1. Not disclosed due to risks associated with disclosure
(1) System Average Interruption Duration Index (SAIDI) IF-EU-550a.2. Not applicable
  • * J-POWER Transmission Network Co., Ltd., a consolidated subsidiary of the Company, owns electric power transmission and transformation facilities and engages in electricity transmission as stipulated in the Electricity Business Act, but does not own distribution facilities and does not engage in the business of supplying electricity to end users. This is currently placed under the roles of individual transmission system operators (TSOs) that engage in grid operations in specific areas.
(2) System Average Interruption Frequency Index (SAIFI)
(3) Customer Average Interruption Duration Index (CAIDI)
  • *1 The figure is calculated for J-POWER and its domestic and overseas consolidated subsidiaries and equity method affiliates (electric power business, overseas business, electric power related business, etc.).
  • *2 The figure is calculated for J-POWER and its domestic and overseas consolidated subsidiaries (electric power business, overseas business, electric power related business, etc.), without taking into account the ratio of capital contribution.
  • *3 All of these reductions are compared to FY2013.
  • *4 The length of the section of the river where water withdrawal for hydroelectric power generation reduces water flow is 10 km or more and the catchment area is 200 km2 or more, etc.

Activity Metrics

Business metrics Result
Number of: (1) residential, (2) commercial, and (3) industrial customers served Not disclosed for competitive reasons due to deregulation of the electric power industry
Total electricity delivered to: (1) residential, (2) commercial, (3) industrial, (4) all other retail customers, and (5) wholesale customers Not disclosed for competitive reasons due to deregulation of the electric power industry
Length of transmission and distribution lines 2,410.3 km
Total electricity generated, percentage by major energy source, percentage in regulated markets (1) 66,712,726 MWh
(2) Hydroelectric: 12.5% Thermal: 85.3% Wind: 2.0% Geothermal: 0.1% Solar: 0.1%
(3) Not applicable (Marked “Not applicable” as there are no “regulated markets” in Japan)
Total wholesale electricity purchased Not disclosed for competitive reasons due to deregulation of the electric power industry
  • * Total electricity generated and percentage by major energy source are based on the results of consolidated subsidiaries in the domestic electric power business.
Page Top